How I need to get my groove back

There was a movie that came out in the cinema in 1998 called How Stella Got Her Groove Back. It was about a woman who is in her forties and she re-evaluates her life after meeting a strapping, young man on an island vacation.

I don’t foresee an island vacation or a hot romance with a younger man, (my husband wouldn’t be happy about that) but I do need to get my GROOVE back.

My GROOVE is my sense of Joy. I’ve lost it along the way over the past tumultuous years. I’ve written previous blogs about concentrating on Joy, but I feel God pressing the necessity of it more and more in my lift right now.

How does one get their JOY back? I’m not sure. Biblically speaking I should have Joy just based on the fact that I am saved by Grace and that I have a personal relationship with God. But, honestly, that knowledge hasn’t been enough for me to reinstate that spark.

I need a childlike sense of Joy. That light, happy spirit that comes from children. I miss the spontaneity of my youth, and the crazy character I was in my twenties.

So, I’ve been praying that God gives me Joy. That seems to be working a bit. I need to allow myself to feel Joy. That Joy comes from knowing that I am in God’s very capable hands. He is in control of my entire life. It’s true. Not because I read it somewhere, but because in my darkest moments over the past decades of my life, He has never, NEVER let me down.

Even when my internal darkness has been so thick that I couldn’t see around me, there has always been a pinpoint of light, no matter how quavering or weak, that has led me out. God has never let me down and abandoned me.

Now HE is telling me to embrace JOY. It is one of His gifts.

I am giving myself permission to feel Joy. I have to tell myself that it is okay to feel it. It is okay to see the world and my circumstances through the faithful, innocent eyes of a child, because my Dad in Heaven is taking care of me. He always has, and he always will. His will for me is Peace, Love, and Joy. I just have to believe in that. Let go, let God, have Joy…and get my groove back.

Galatians 5:22-23 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. Against such things there is no Law.

Leave a Reply

