To Blog or not to Blog…that is the question

It has been a handful of months since I have written and posted a blog. The pressures of work and motherhood often put a damper on my personal time. I decided instead to focus whatever limited energy and time I had on completing my second novella. That I managed to do last week.

Summer vacation is here and like most teachers across this great country I am planning various projects that need to be completed in my house and in my personal life. That includes taking time to blog. But, blog about what?

There are numerous varieties of blogs on the internet. I am torn as to the content and tenor of my blog. What should I blog about? Should I abandon this endeavor completely and focus my intentions on my future novellas and novels?

I’ve taken some time to contemplate the above questions. Blogs are about experience, but should my blog be dedicated to only an aspect of my life? There is motherhood, working motherhood, teaching, writing, Christianity, friendship, family, society, science, etc. to infinity. Many of the internet’s blogs do focus on these things with considerably better information and more passion than I can muster.

After contemplating these various avenues I was tempted to abandon this blog completely. Yet, a tiny voice continuing to nag me from the mist in my mind that I shouldn’t abandon the blog. So then what do I write about?

I’ve decided to write about anything and everything that catches my attention across my personal journey in this space and time that compels me to write . And maybe, just maybe, in my journey my readers will see a piece of themselves or understand humanity at a richer, deeper level than they have before.

If I attempt anything else it will be contrived and inauthentic and I don’t have the stamina to maintain that artifice. Life is too short not to be real. I will on occasion be vague to protect the journey of other individuals, because their story is theirs to tell. Not mine.

So, back to the journey blog. Come along for the ride, stop occasionally for a visit, or send me a hello. I would love to hear from you.

“For myself, for a long time… maybe I felt inauthentic or something, I felt like my voice wasn’t worth hearing, and I think everyone’s voice is worth hearing. So if you’ve got something to say, say it from the rooftops.” – Tom Hiddleston, actor

Leave a Reply

