When are you going to live the life you’ve always dreamed of?

Last year at this time I was battling the incessant urge to write. So many fears blocked my path that it was like a war torn city landscape littered with broken glass, metal debris and unknown landmines.

I finally decided after a long, warm bath (the miracle of water) that it was time to start living the life I always dreamed. I embraced that writer’s path in May. I remember it quite specifically and I haven’t looked back. I often toyed with the writer’s life since I was eleven years old, but I never fully embraced it or believed in my innate talent. Too many fears blocked my path like the aforementioned rubble. Well, I finally said fuck it.

Since then I have written a novella, started this blog, am half way through my second novella and I have a few other writing projects I am planning on completing by the end of the year. One, has to be completed by this Thursday. I have a would be movie producer bugging me about writing a B-movie horror script and I plan on having my novella trilogy completed by the end of the year. I won’t go back to my previous life.

Granted, I have had less than a dozen people buy my first novella. And I have less than thirty followers on this blog. But, I have met some amazing people on twitter and through my short two day movie set adventure. It doesn’t matter if I ever become ridiculously famous like E.L. James, J.K. Rowling, or Stephanie Meyer. I am happy affecting my small circle and writing what I love.

The project that is due this Thursday is a series of letters to friends of mine who are going on my birthday trip with me to a picturesque, costal Michigan city this weekend. My very personal letters will be their gifts from me for attending such an important milestone in my life. I haven’t got a whole lot of money, but I do have my talent for self-expression and my fearlessness in expressing my more intimate emotions.

I’ve done that before. I’ve given a gift of a poem to a friend that I stayed with in Pittsburgh last summer. Her gift in return was a beautiful painting rendered from a picture of us taken in the city: a gift of talent for a gift of talent. It is a beautiful gesture and one that I couldn’t have done until I have finally embraced that life I always dreamed for myself, a writer’s life. Because what do writers do? They write. That simple. Sometimes I write brilliantly, sometimes pathetically, but I still write. I try to follow the simple rule of Ray Bradbury. Never stop writing. I don’t plan to, now that I have begun walking the path, and the rubble isn’t nearly as bad as I thought it was.

So, have you embraced the life you’ve always dreamed for yourself?

IMG_5830

3 thoughts on “When are you going to live the life you’ve always dreamed of?

    • Thanks Abigail! Your comments mean a lot. I’ll read anything well written. I write fantasy – all variations of that genre. The painting is beautiful and I’m so proud to display it in my house. Have a blessed day.

      Like

  1. sure thing! I come from a family of artists and I always admire the art that I find. I love that quote by Ray Bradbury as well. It reminds me of another quote that I love, “This is very important, as we do our best, He will not let us fail.” As long as we are doing our best, He will lift us up when we we just quite can’t do it all. “He”being our Heavenly Father. Have a wonderful day! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

