Peace – the Lenten Journey

Peace is the third gift of the Spirit and it is profound and completely of the Spirit. Two Bible verses stand out when I think of Peace.

John 14:27 Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

Philippians 4:7

And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

One more Biblical point I want to make. One of Christ’s titles is The Prince of Peace.

The word Peace is in the Bible as much as, if not slightly more than, the word Love, certainly more than the word Joy. There are two forms of Peace; inner and outer. I’ll be concentrating my reflection and my current life on inner Peace.  It is my inner Peace that is paramount in fostering external Peace in my relationships and my life.

I am about to explain a paradox in my personal belief systems. Although I am a Christian, I believe Christ is the son of God and Jesus Christ of Nazareth is my personal savior, I am a novice practitioner of yoga. My first yoga class consisted of me having a very conscious conversation with God about being in a yoga studio. God and Christ are interchangeable for me. Many conservative Christians are anti-yoga or anti-anything that isn’t explicitly written in the Bible. So, I was a little nervous my first yoga class. I asked God about my presence at the yoga studio and that quiet still voice inside of me simply told me that we humans must align our hearts, minds, bodies, and souls. Yoga is a way to work on the body while the rest fall into line. I felt Christ had no issues with me going to Yoga. I was given permission to proceed, and I was at Peace with the decision. And, what a decision.

It is in my yoga sessions that I find Peace. I focus on my body and when my mind does wander it wanders toward Christ. I bow at the end of a yoga class to the Divine light in all of us because I believe that Divine light comes from the only Light in the universe. I find God’s Peace in a Yoga studio. It has also taught me how to mediate and still my restless mind. I believe this is a gift from God. Prayer is also essential to having Peace. It is absolutely essential, because true Peace only comes from a relationship with God.

My last journal entry, and in a previous one, I mentioned God’s will for all His children. God quite simply wants his children to have Joy and be at Peace. That’s it. It seems simple enough, but Peace is hardly that simple. Mindfulness has become the latest catch phrase and secular philosophy to try to emphasize the importance of inner peace. But, for me, true Peace comes from quietness in God given as a gift by God through the power of the Holy Spirit. There have been harrowing times in my life when I desperately reached out to God for help. It was in those moments that I have felt a profound and inexplicable sense of Peace and Serenity. That is why it is referred to as the “peace that surpasses all understanding”.  It’s that kind of Peace that undoubtedly is God given. It is the kind of Peace that has no human explanation, where the soul puts itself completely into the hands of the creator. It is the kind of Peace given to a griever holding the hand of a dying parent, lover, friend or child. It is the kind of Peace given to a dying man or women. It is the kind of Peace that a parent stirs in a restless child by just the tone of their voice. It is the Peace that our Father whispers to our souls silencing the tumult of the world.

Leave a Reply

