Fruits of the Spirit and Lent

Lent started this past Wednesday and depending on what denomination of a Christian you are, you observe it differently. I was baptized Christian Orthodox, joined a Lutheran Church a little over ten years ago and I now consider myself an open minded spiritual Christian.

I observe Lent. I’ve been trained to treat it seriously and I always feel the spiritual impulse to do something. I’m doing the common practice of giving up something that brings me pleasure. I’m giving up sweets. These include: chocolate, cookies, cake, desserts, ice cream, etc. Trust me. I’m a woman. This is a huge sacrifice.

But, I feel a calling to do more. God as Christ, wants a closer relationship to all of His children. Consequently, I feel compelled to study and witness to the world as a part of my Lenten journey this year.

I’m choosing my blog as a way to explore the fruits of the Spirit as listed in Galatians 5:22-23.

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control. Against such there is no law.

It’s that last line that often fascinates me, “Against such there is no law.” These are good, positive character traits for Christians, non-Christians, humanists, atheists, the other -ists, and the whole of the human race.

During this time of Lent, I will take the time to write a blog about each of the fruits of the Spirit. If you care to read, join me on this journey. If not, I hope to see you again here after Easter.

God Bless.

Leave a Reply

